We are privileged to have an active Board of Governors, with a broad depth of knowledge.

The Governing Body undertakes the following roles;

  • Appoints the Headteacher
  • Works with the school to set strategic vision and direction
  • Monitors progress towards school objectives, offering constructive challenge as required
  • Reviews, updates and monitors the adherence to school policies

  • The Body is made up of different Governor Status types, as agreed within the Trust’s constitution. These are:

  • Parent
  • Local Authority
  • Staff
  • Co-Opted Governors

  • The term of office is four years, and members can be re-elected for further terms.


    The Full Board of Governors meet approximately six times each year, and we have three sub-committees.

    Clive Brooke
    Shane Harfield
    Donna Selmes
    Chris Norwood
    Caroline McNally-Johnson
    Fiona Collingridge

    Clive Brooke – Chair
    Karen Du Rocher
    Joan Hillcock
    Jeorge Tehara
    Donna Selmes
    Jan Blease
    Chris Norwood

    Jan Blease (Chair)
    Clive Brooke
    James Reid
    Chris Norwood
    Eileen Tuff
    Jeorge Tehara
    Fiona Collingridge

    All Governors

    Each sub-committee meets four times a year. Governors also sit on a number of Governor Panels, these include Pay Review, Disciplinary, Student Appeals and other School/Staff issues.

    Governing Bodies are under a duty to publish a Governor Register of Business Interests. The register sets out the relevant Business Interests of Governors and details of any other educational establishments they govern. It also sets out any relationships between members of the Governing Body and members of the school staff including spouses, partners and other relatives.

    © 2024 - Northfleet School for Girls - All Rights Reserved.

    To listen to page content, click the playback option under large blocks of text. As shown below.
    The website will then read the page content back to you much like a podcast. You can rewind and adjust the audio level as required for the best listening experience.

    Please use the menu to locate the information you require. If you are unable to locate what you are looking for, please try the AI chat assistant on our website homepage.