Below you will find some examples of words that are used in the school environment, both on this website, in the school and in other educational establishments with an explanation of what they mean. We hope you will find this guide helpful!

Achievement - Describes both attainment i.e. the level achieved and the progress you have made from a starting point.

AfL - Assessment for Learning – is the process of seeking and interpreting evidence for use by learners and their teachers to decide where the learners are in their learning, where they need to go and how best to get there.

ASC - Autism Spectrum Condition

Attainment - The actual result attained by the pupil.

Attainment Targets A general defined level of ability that a pupil is expected to achieve at each key stage in the National Curriculum.

Blending - To draw individual sounds together to pronounce a word, e.g. f-l-a-p, blended together, reads flap.

Core Subjects - English, maths and science: all pupils must study these subjects up to Key Stage 4.

CPD - Continuing Professional Development

Creative Curriculum - There are numerous interpretations of the concept of ‘the creative curriculum’. In some schools it means topics or themes, in others it means asking children what they want to learn.

DBS - Disclosure & Barring Service – refers to the new agency created out of a merger between the Criminal Records Bureau (CRB) and The Independent Safeguarding Authority (ISA), its full title is The Disclosure and Barring Service. The checks and information provided will remain the same but will be branded DBS Checks.

DfE - Department for Education

Differentiation - A wide variety of teaching techniques and lesson adaptations that teachers use to pupils of differing abilities in the same class.

EAL - English as an additional language

EBD - Emotional and Behavioural Difficulties

English Baccalaureate - The English Baccalaureate (EBacc) is a performance measure, not a qualification and is not to be confused with the International Baccalaureate. The Ebacc measure shows where pupils have secured a C grade or above across a core of academic subjects at Key Stage 4 and enables parents and pupils to see how their school is performing. It is not compulsory for schools to ensure pupils sit the correct combination of subjects to tick the EBacc box and currently (Jan 2014) iGSCEs are not included in the measure so many high achieving academic schools will score a low or even zero Ebacc

EHC Plan - Educational Health Care Plan – An education, health and care plan is a document that says what support a child or young person who has special needs should have.

EWO - Education Welfare Officer

EYFS - Early Years Foundation Stage – A framework of care and Education for children from birth to five years of age. This stage typically means Nursery/Preschool and Reception Classes.

FSM - Free School Meals

FLO - Family Liaison Officer

FTE - Full Time Equivalent

GCSEs - The General Certificate of Secondary Education is a national qualification that pupils work for during Key Stage 4. Pupils often take a number of GCSEs, graded by a mixture of coursework and exams.

HLTA - Higher Level Teaching Assistant

HMI - Her Majesty’s Inspector of Schools

ICT - Information and Communication Technology

IEP - Individual Education Plan for SEN pupils

Inclusion - Removing barriers to learning so all pupils can participate at their own level.

International Baccalaureate - an organisation that provides programmes of study from ages 3 – 19 throughout the world. The latter part of this programme, for 16 – 19 year old pupils is a challenging, internationally recognised course that leads to a qualification called the International Baccalaureate Diploma (often referred to as simply the International Bacculaureate). It’s well respected by universities and can be an advantage if your child is hoping to study overseas.

INSET - In-Service Education and Training – Training for staff which takes place during the school year.

ISA - Independent Safeguarding Authority

ITT - Initial Teacher Training

IWB - Interactive Whiteboard

Key Stage Three (Years 7 & 8)

Key Stage Four (Years 10 & 11)

Key Stage Five (Years 12 & 13)

LA - Local Authority

LAA - Local Area Agreement

LAC - Looked After Children

MLD - Moderate Learning Difficulties

NAHT - National Association of Head Teachers

NASUWT - National Association of Schoolmasters/Union of Women Teachers

NGA - National Governors’ Association

NLE - National Leader of Education

NPQH - National Professional Qualification for Headship

NQT - Newly Qualified Teacher

NUT National Union of Teachers

Ofsted - Office for Standards in Education

PE - Physical Education

Performance Table - Published by the DfE to compare school results.

Phonics - Phonics refers to the method for teaching speakers of English to read and write their language. It involves connecting the sounds of spoken English with letters or groups of letters (e.g that the sound /k/ can be represented by c, k, ck or ch spellings) and teaching them to blend the sounds of letters together to produce approximate pronunciations of unknown words. In this way, phonics enables people to use individual sounds to construct words. For example, when taught the sounds for the letters t, p, a and s, one can build up the words “tap”, “pat”, “pats”, “taps” and “sat.”

PPA - Planning, Preparation and Assessment time to which teachers are entitled.

Progression - Pupils develop academically and personally from year to year and from one key stage to the next in a way which builds on what has already been achieved.

Progress 8 score -This is the average of all pupils' individual Progress 8 scores, which takes into account their best eight GCSE results as well as the educational level at which they entered the school.

PRU - Pupil Referral Unit

PSHE - Personal Social Health and Economic education

PTA - Parent Teacher Association.

QTS - Qualified Teacher Status

RE - Religious Education

SACREs - Standing Advisory Council for Religious Education

SATs - Standard Attainment Tests/Tasks – National Curriculum Tests and Tasks which take place at the end of Key Stage 1 and at the end of Key Stage 2.

SCR Single Central Record – Schools must hold a single central record of all adults working with pupils. The records hold security and ID checks among other specific information.

SENCO - Special Educational Needs Coordinator

SIP - School Improvement Plan

SLE - Specialist Leader of Education

SLT - Senior Leadership Team

SMSC - Spiritual, Moral, Social and Cultural (development)

TA - Teaching Assistant

TAG - Teacher Assessed Grade - Teachers will decide on a Teacher Assessed Grade (TAG) that will assess the standard at which a student is performing in the absence of the usual exams sat by students. TAGs will apply to all GCSEs, A Levels and Vocational courses.

Transition - The movement of pupils from Key Stage to Key Stage or school to school and the procedures associated with it.

Vocational qualifications - These qualifications are all about the world of work, across the full range of jobs, industries and professions. BTEC and City & Guilds courses are the most common, taking in everything from Apprenticeships and NVQs (more hands-on), to certificates and diplomas (more classroom based).

VCOP - Vocabulary, connectives, openers and punctuation pupils are expected to use in their writing.

To listen to page content, click the playback option under large blocks of text. As shown below.
The website will then read the page content back to you much like a podcast. You can rewind and adjust the audio level as required for the best listening experience.